Can’t decide on a team pillow case, well . . . .

So my beautiful wife has to work late, the boys are in bed, and she refuses to let me watch the next episode of Game of Thrones (which she claims not to like), so let’s make a pillow case! Now there are a couple different ways to make a pillow case but I wanted one with two different teams and an offset team cuff! So I did a hack job on some instructions to suit my project and here it is.

IMG_7807 Ava side pillow case

What you need:

1. About a 1.25 yards of fabric, on sale for $6 a yard (I got a yard of each team as I have more than one project planned); and

2. about an hour. (If I could sew probably 20 minutes). I used a loose “Z” stitch for the whole project.

Let’s get started:

First, I started by cutting two 9 in x 23 in strip (one from each team fabric) for the cuff. Make sure you have the fabric is the right direction for the cuff. As you can see in the main picture, the print on the cuff is vertical to the main print. You can make it either way to suit your pattern. In my case, for the offset teams, I cut the two 9×23 strips and sewed them together by putting the print sides facing each other as below. I used the factory edge to make it easier. Pin it and then look at it before sewing!!!

IMG_7786 IMG_7787

As you can see, I was a smidgen off on my line, no big deal!

IMG_7789 IMG_7790

It really helps to iron out the seams after sewing (not necessary but sure does make it easier). Now you should have a 9x45ish strip. as you can see, I can’t cut a straight line despite my ruler and piece of chalk but again, no worries. It gets folded over anyway!

Second, lets now cut the main pillow case out. You have a couple of choices. Break out the ruler and do some really dandy measuring on fabric that moves a lot or find a pillow case in the linen closet , lay it on top of the fabric, put your strait edge about 1 1/2 inches wider than the pillow case and cut. I did a hybrid of the two. I used the existing pillow case to get a rough idea and then added hem room of 1 1/2 inches with my straight ruler. Your piece should be approximately 23×30.

IMG_7791 IMG_7793

As you can see, i cut one panel from each team! By now you should be feeling kinda proud because you’re half way home! Feel free to talk a little smack to your spouse about now.

Third, align the two main panels with the print side facing each other. Pin and sew down the 30 inch side. When you are finished you should have a 45×30 piece. Please check your pattern direction.

IMG_7793

Once again, iron out the seams.

Fourth, we need to attach the cuff across the top. Now this time, use your ruler! I did it the hard way that ended up making a double stitch, no harm no foul as the saying goes. Lay the cuff face down on the top of the main panels as seen below.

IMG_7794

Then pin in place. Fold cuff back on itself so you have a 4 inch cuff and re-pin. Make sure the team seams line up on the sewn parts. On the unfinished parts you will have excess material tat will be cut away.Your seam should end up on the inside and not leaving a visible seam on the main panel.

IMG_7800

IMG_7801

Now we are looking good! Our cuff is attached to our two panels and the teams are aligned on the cuff and panel! Lets close this baby up!

Fifth, fold over so print is facing print. Iron that seam! Now go get out your old pillow case again to get a rough idea on the size and length. Remember to add room for the hem. It should end up being approximately 21 x 27.

IMG_7802

Chalk your lines an sew sew sew! Make sure to go back and re-enforce areas where you are going to trim off your closing stitch, if it happens to be in the excess area. I always re-do all the corners to be safe. Thread is cheap.

Sixth, Cut off the excess.

IMG_7803

And you end up with this:

IMG_7804 IMG_7805 Ava side pillow case IMG_7807

Pat yourself on the back, job well done!

Leave a Reply

